SRG
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu 9 Feb 2017 15:41

Render Manager

Thu 9 Feb 2017 15:49

Looks nicer than the Batch-Renderer of v6, but beside the Client-thing it's NOT better.
Why can't I change the order any more?
Where's the percentage-status gone?
When there are little problems according to the stability of the WLAN and a second computer might be disconnected for just milliseconds the whole rendering stops! That's bad!

Whead
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri 10 Feb 2017 07:28

Re: Render Manager

Fri 10 Feb 2017 07:43

Hi there!

You still can change the order in the batch-menue in ARTLANTIS 6.5 when a project is opened - looks like the old one! Just refresh in RM and the new order should update.

And I have to agree, that important infos are missing in the Render Manager, like the estimated time (which often was useless though), etc.

For VR-Objects, I don't get a preview pic in the RM, f.e. but you can still look them up in the temporary folder.
And to be fair, the VR-object render-time has been reduced immensely imho!

In general, the new RM interface (UI) needs some optimizing and fixing, but I really appreciate the stability of 6.5 now.

Cheers!

fendervox
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed 1 Feb 2017 14:48

Re: Render Manager

Fri 10 Feb 2017 08:37

Hi,

The biggest problem I have with the new Render Manager is this: Once a view has been rendered the .atla file remains loaded in the computers RAM. It then loads the next file in-line and so on. This results in the PC running out of RAM when many large files are rendered.

This happens on the host PC and all nodes connected to the network. HUGE PROBLEM !!

Regards.
Jaco.

User avatar
CamilleSarrut
Posts: 704
Joined: Tue 20 Oct 2015 08:41

Re: Render Manager

Fri 17 Feb 2017 15:12

Hi,

I don't think what you said is true.
I have just tested the Render Manager (on Mac OS X 10.10) with 3 clients (Win7, Win10 & OS X 10.10) to render 10 views, each from a different atla file.
The clients memory usage changes, it increases and decreases depending on the size of the atla file.
I have checked that the file is unloaded from the client each time a new file is loaded to be rendered.

What is true is if you render more than one view of the same atla file then the atla file is kept in the client memory until a view from another file is being rendered.

Best regards,
Camille Sarrut
Camille Sarrut
Abvent R&D

fendervox
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed 1 Feb 2017 14:48

Re: Render Manager

Mon 20 Feb 2017 08:20

Hi Camille,

I am glad it works for you. In my case what I say is true. I have done a lot of tests with different files and run in to this problem.
Even when using only my own pc to render I get the RAM issue when using the Render Manager.

I have opened a ticket with support to try and get help.

fendervox
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed 1 Feb 2017 14:48

Re: Render Manager

Mon 20 Feb 2017 12:37

The attached file will clearly illustrate my problem.
Attachments
Ram usage.JPG
Ram usage.JPG (1.17 MiB) Viewed 6052 times

philhuntdesign161
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue 7 Mar 2017 16:21

Re: Render Manager

Tue 7 Mar 2017 16:26

my problem is the render manager never starts.......i have been using Atlantis for 15 years and have never had any problems
please see jpg for my screen shot
Attachments
batch render.jpg
batch render.jpg (218.58 KiB) Viewed 5919 times

kgriffith
Posts: 128
Joined: Thu 2 Feb 2017 15:30

Re: Render Manager

Tue 7 Mar 2017 17:17

From the image, it appears you do not have a client computer set up. If that is the case, you need to install the client software on at least your computer and any others you want to use as nodes), and run it before running the Render manager. The render manager should then detect the client computer(s).

philhuntdesign161
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue 7 Mar 2017 16:21

Re: Render Manager

Wed 8 Mar 2017 19:56

thank you where do I find the client software...i have no idea it's different from artlantis 5

philhuntdesign161
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue 7 Mar 2017 16:21

Re: Render Manager

Wed 8 Mar 2017 20:08

found the software and all is well thanks so much p :D

Return to “Artlantis General”