SimonVdd
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu 8 Mar 2018 13:05

Why are my renders always so grainy with artlantis 7?

Thu 19 Jul 2018 08:42

Since I use artlantis 7 my renders are a bit grainy. At least they are the same settings as with artlantis 6.5.
Attachments
Rosseel_view_0.jpg
Rosseel_view_0.jpg (2.13 MiB) Viewed 3073 times

Francisco Vidigal
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon 30 Jul 2018 14:15

Re: Why are my renders always so grainy with artlantis 7?

Mon 30 Jul 2018 14:17

I totally agree. Version 7 has even more grain than v6 . It's completely nightmare for interior scenes with enhanced background option on or neon lights :(

juancamiloarq
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri 3 Feb 2017 14:25
Location: Bucaramanga, Colombia

Re: Why are my renders always so grainy with artlantis 7?

Sun 26 Aug 2018 20:36

"Enhanced Background" should only be used for exterior scenes, it has been widely discussed.

Try it ;)
Juan

Francisco Vidigal
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon 30 Jul 2018 14:15

Re: Why are my renders always so grainy with artlantis 7?

Mon 27 Aug 2018 11:46

Not really. Enhanced background is essential for realism in interior scenes. If you check the image attached, you'll see that small shadow details come from enhanced background option (in this case with HDRI).

I have to render this image in version 6.0 with 7000 pixels wide to get a "noise" free image. In Version 7 is impossible to do it. Enhanced background off is not an option for our workflow since we can't decrease our quality in order to have free noise images. All other render engine in the market have denoise solutions, why not in artlantis?
Attachments
Sala T0 02 small.jpg
Sala T0 02 small.jpg (1.35 MiB) Viewed 2861 times
Sala T0 01 small.jpg
Sala T0 01 small.jpg (1.44 MiB) Viewed 2861 times

kgriffith
Posts: 128
Joined: Thu 2 Feb 2017 15:30

Re: Why are my renders always so grainy with artlantis 7?

Mon 27 Aug 2018 15:59

I think the issue here is that Artlantis can't do soft shadows except via HDRI. These are very nice renderings, and one reason is the soft shadows and subtle light changes. I don't think that can be achieved without HDRI.

My work in Artlantis always involves using background photos for context, so I can't use HDRI. Consequently, I can't get the softer shadows and lighting.

There is a gap in the lighting solutions offered by Artlantis 6 and up.

digipi
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat 4 Feb 2017 11:52

Re: Why are my renders always so grainy with artlantis 7?

Tue 28 Aug 2018 07:41

Yes, it would be great to use in Artlantis together HDRI lighting and your background.
The background image would miss the light from the rear HDRI ...

Return to “Artlantis General”