garethsnaim
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu 20 Apr 2017 17:17

Export of Artlantis to Twinmotion

Thu 27 Jun 2019 09:48

Hi

I don't know what the deal is but twinmotion is now free on epic, and the links from the artlantis website goes to Epic.

When I export my project form artlantis it ends .tma, but a twinmotion document is .tm

Twinmotion does not recognize the file at all, I tried changing the file extension, not expect much and of course it just crashed twin motion.

Whats the deal here?

kgriffith
Posts: 128
Joined: Thu 2 Feb 2017 15:30

Re: Export of Artlantis to Twinmotion

Thu 27 Jun 2019 11:02

I struggled with this as well, but then realized one needs to import tma files. You are correct that TM won't open tma files. Use File>Import.

garethsnaim
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu 20 Apr 2017 17:17

Re: Export of Artlantis to Twinmotion

Thu 27 Jun 2019 21:56

Thanks but when I choose import it does not show up, it is not recognised as importable.

garethsnaim
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu 20 Apr 2017 17:17

Re: Export of Artlantis to Twinmotion

Fri 28 Jun 2019 10:36

I have tried everything even creating a simple cube, I have also tried it on a different computer system. simply put the file formats are different and twinmotion does not recognize the artlantis output .tma Vs .tm.


A cynical part of me thinks this is by design.

kgriffith
Posts: 128
Joined: Thu 2 Feb 2017 15:30

Re: Export of Artlantis to Twinmotion

Fri 28 Jun 2019 10:58

Interesting - it most definitely works for me. Are you using "Geometry" import? I notice that the tma format is not available for "Landscape" import.

User avatar
CamilleSarrut
Posts: 593
Joined: Tue 20 Oct 2015 08:41

Re: Export of Artlantis to Twinmotion

Fri 28 Jun 2019 13:04

garethsnaim wrote:I have tried everything even creating a simple cube, I have also tried it on a different computer system. simply put the file formats are different and twinmotion does not recognize the artlantis output .tma Vs .tm.


A cynical part of me thinks this is by design.



Hello,

Which version of Twinmotion are you using ?
Twinmotion 2018, Twinmotion 2019 or Twinmotion from Epic ?

The tma files exported from Artlantis can be imported in Twinmotion but they are not Twinmotion files.
There is a tma importer in Twinmotion the same way there is an SKP importer.

There is a known issue with tma exported from Artlantis 2019, they cannot be imported in Twinmotion 2019.
Unfortunately, Abvent does not own Twinmotion anymore, therefore we cannot fix this issue. You can ask Epic if they would be willing to fix it.

I think Epic has removed the tma format from their importers in the current release and the future ones.

Best regards,
Camille Sarrut
Abvent R&D

Werner_Dielen
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue 9 May 2017 13:02

Re: Export of Artlantis to Twinmotion

Fri 28 Jun 2019 13:10

I struggled with this as well.
Artlantis creates a tma file, twinmotion can´t import tma files, neither by using "geometry" nor "landscape".

Could you please tell us how you managed the import?

kgriffith
Posts: 128
Joined: Thu 2 Feb 2017 15:30

Re: Export of Artlantis to Twinmotion

Fri 28 Jun 2019 16:55

On seeing these responses, I was thinking I must not have exported from Artlantis 2019, but an earlier version. So I just opened a file in Artlantis 2019, saved as a Twinmotion Document (tma), opened TM2019 V2 and did File>Import to load the file. I don't think I did anything special...

garethsnaim
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu 20 Apr 2017 17:17

Re: Export of Artlantis to Twinmotion

Fri 28 Jun 2019 23:52

well the fact is it does not work.

I have artlantis 6.5.

Twinmotion is the new epic one

Twinmotion simply does not recognise .tma files. Their format is .tm. Therefore its safe to assume that in the change of ownership something has changed with the file format and its therefore also safe to assume that artlantis export to twinmotion is now obsolete.

Incidentally I cannot export projects from artlantis, in sketchup, obj or what ever, artlantis has the tools there but they do not work. No doubt if I spend even more money on the yearly updates they might work. Hopefully abvent can understand why I am reluctant to do so.

User avatar
CamilleSarrut
Posts: 593
Joined: Tue 20 Oct 2015 08:41

Re: Export of Artlantis to Twinmotion

Tue 2 Jul 2019 09:03

Hello Gareth,

I confirm that, unfortunately, the new Twinmotion from Epic does not import tma files.
We are removing the export to Twinmotion in the next release of Artlantis.

For the SKP, OBJ and DWF export, it should work.
As I told you in viewtopic.php?f=69&t=3523, I tested the export on Mac and Windows with version 6.5 and it worked except for files with 3D Plants.

Best regards,
Camille Sarrut
Abvent R&D

Return to “Artlantis General”