tariq_70
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun 29 Oct 2017 09:36

Export for new Twinmotion!!!

Fri 16 Aug 2019 19:38

Hi, this is another issue that is causing me some headaches! I understand that the new Twinmotion can no longer open up tma artlantis-export files and we are advised to export projects as skp files and then import them into Twinmotion. The issue is that Artlantis 2019 can only export Atlo objects as skp,obj or dwf but unable to export complex atl or atla projects as skp, obj or dwf files so it becomes impossible to import a project into the now free Twinmotion 2019!
Has anyone been successful in doing so and if yes how? I've tried with every single one of my atl/atla files to no avail!

tariq_70
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun 29 Oct 2017 09:36

Re: Export for new Twinmotion!!!

Sat 24 Aug 2019 18:31

As always, I am overwhelmed with the extensive response from the community but as you might understand I cannot answer all of your messages!
As a thank you note, that's how I ended up doing it:
- assemble every single vegetation object in one layer,
- turn off that layer,
- replace all 3d grass shader with a 2d shader,
- export as obj file (Artlantis doesn't "like" direct exports of skp files)
- re-import the obj file into Artlantis (New Twinmotion crashes when importing obj files exported from Artlantis!)
- re-export file as skp from Artlantis,
- now you can import this last skp file into Twinmotion!!!

Hope this helps!!!

User avatar
CamilleSarrut
Posts: 614
Joined: Tue 20 Oct 2015 08:41

Re: Export for new Twinmotion!!!

Tue 27 Aug 2019 16:40

Thank you Tariq !!

I hope we will be able to improve the SKP exporter for Artlantis 2020 and make it compatible with the 3D grass shader.
I will keep you posted.
Camille Sarrut
Abvent R&D

tariq_70
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun 29 Oct 2017 09:36

Re: Export for new Twinmotion!!!

Thu 29 Aug 2019 13:32

Hi Camile,

Thanks for your reply, are you telling me that Abvent is not going to release a fix for all these issues in a 2019 version update but, hopefully, is going to get them fixed in the next 2020 release of the software! Well, is the 2020 release going to be a free update for the ones who own a valid copy of the software or do we have to pay for fixes that were expected in the 2019 release????!!!

User avatar
CamilleSarrut
Posts: 614
Joined: Tue 20 Oct 2015 08:41

Re: Export for new Twinmotion!!!

Thu 29 Aug 2019 14:55

tariq_70 wrote:Hi Camile,

Thanks for your reply, are you telling me that Abvent is not going to release a fix for all these issues in a 2019 version update but, hopefully, is going to get them fixed in the next 2020 release of the software! Well, is the 2020 release going to be a free update for the ones who own a valid copy of the software or do we have to pay for fixes that were expected in the 2019 release????!!!


Sorry, but I have no idea if it will be a free update or not.
If it is only a fix of the plugins, we might be able to make an update for 2019, but I'm not sure.
Camille Sarrut
Abvent R&D

tariq_70
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun 29 Oct 2017 09:36

Re: Export for new Twinmotion!!!

Thu 29 Aug 2019 19:54

Hi Camile, by the way the plugin issue is not the only problem with Artlantis 2019, there is also:

- the lens flare issue (lasting since the launch of v6!), I'm not too fond of using PS or else to generate this effect as I also like it on animations!
- the external night shots using artificial lights (street lights or else) appear brighter in the final render (see my marina project render its preview is much darker but my final render is somehow over-exposed!)
- re-scaling light objects may turn the light off even if the light is enabled in the UI (had to rescale again and again the balconies' lanterns to get them to lit up)!
- very slow render times especially for animations and the inability to exploit the power of a GPU (we have recently invested in Radeon VIIs)!

I'd prefer sticking with Artlantis because of the large library of objects/shaders that we've gathered over the years but my work partners are now seriously considering the acquisition of a different renderer as a support to our architectural package Vectorworks (which, by the way, does a good job exporting to Twinmotion, hence the interest in this renderer)!

User avatar
CamilleSarrut
Posts: 614
Joined: Tue 20 Oct 2015 08:41

Re: Export for new Twinmotion!!!

Fri 30 Aug 2019 08:05

tariq_70 wrote:Hi Camile, by the way the plugin issue is not the only problem with Artlantis 2019, there is also:

- the lens flare issue (lasting since the launch of v6!), I'm not too fond of using PS or else to generate this effect as I also like it on animations!

which issue ? could you be more specific ?
- the external night shots using artificial lights (street lights or else) appear brighter in the final render (see my marina project render its preview is much darker but my final render is somehow over-exposed!)

Did you refine the preview to check the lighting before starting the final render ?
Did you use ISO/Shutter or Automatic Exposure ?

- re-scaling light objects may turn the light off even if the light is enabled in the UI (had to rescale again and again the balconies' lanterns to get them to lit up)!

Could you send me a file or a movie showing this issue, I did not know about it.
- very slow render times especially for animations and the inability to exploit the power of a GPU (we have recently invested in Radeon VIIs)!

It is true that we are slower then Twinmotion ;-) But you can tweek the rendering settings to improve rendering time. Unfortunately our engine does not use GPU to render, we might work on this feature in the near future.
I'd prefer sticking with Artlantis because of the large library of objects/shaders that we've gathered over the years but my work partners are now seriously considering the acquisition of a different renderer as a support to our architectural package Vectorworks (which, by the way, does a good job exporting to Twinmotion, hence the interest in this renderer)!

I hope you will stick to Artlantis and use Twinmotion for the Animation !!
I did not know that Vectorworks was exporting to Twinmotion, does it generate a Twinmotion file or another format imported by Twinmotion ?
Camille Sarrut
Abvent R&D

tariq_70
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun 29 Oct 2017 09:36

Re: Export for new Twinmotion!!!

Fri 30 Aug 2019 08:59

Hi Camille,

-I have already mentioned the lens flare issue to you in several posts (since the launch of v6) and in a more recent post of the wish list: the lens flares are shown even when the light source is hidden behind an obstacle and they get misplaced when you use the architects perspective.
-I will try to make a habit of refining the preview (which takes a long time for night shots) before the final render to see if it makes any difference.
-I always use the iso/shutter option on my renders!
-The file of this specific project is more than 200Mb so may not be able to issue out the atla version but may send you the atlo light object for you to test!
-Vectorworks exports to obj/fbx and generates a file that is perfectly imported into Twinmotion!

Hope this helps
T

User avatar
CamilleSarrut
Posts: 614
Joined: Tue 20 Oct 2015 08:41

Re: Export for new Twinmotion!!!

Tue 3 Sep 2019 08:45

tariq_70 wrote:Hi Camille,

-I have already mentioned the lens flare issue to you in several posts (since the launch of v6) and in a more recent post of the wish list: the lens flares are shown even when the light source is hidden behind an obstacle and they get misplaced when you use the architects perspective.
-I will try to make a habit of refining the preview (which takes a long time for night shots) before the final render to see if it makes any difference.
-I always use the iso/shutter option on my renders!
-The file of this specific project is more than 200Mb so may not be able to issue out the atla version but may send you the atlo light object for you to test!
-Vectorworks exports to obj/fbx and generates a file that is perfectly imported into Twinmotion!

Hope this helps
T


- Ok, for the Lens flare issues, I was not sure it was this one. I will check with our engine developer if it is something they can fix.

- Please send me the atlo light object along with the jpg in zipped format, and describe precisely what you do to have the problem. (sarrut@abvent.fr)

- Artlantis also export as DWF, did you try this format ?

tariq_70 wrote:- assemble every single vegetation object in one layer,
- turn off that layer,
- replace all 3d grass shader with a 2d shader,
- export as obj file (Artlantis doesn't "like" direct exports of skp files)
- re-import the obj file into Artlantis (New Twinmotion crashes when importing obj files exported from Artlantis!)
- re-export file as skp from Artlantis,
- now you can import this last skp file into Twinmotion!!!
T

What do you mean by (Artlantis doesn't "like" direct exports of skp files) ?
It crashes ?
Is it a problem with all your files ?
Camille Sarrut
Abvent R&D

tariq_70
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun 29 Oct 2017 09:36

Re: Export for new Twinmotion!!!

Tue 3 Sep 2019 09:52

Hi camille,

Thanks for your response.

- atlo file already sent to your mail box!
- the DWF export works but it messes up the materials/textures structure and fuses some materials together!
- while you can export simple atlo files into skp, it ain't the case with complex atl/atla files: Artlantis produces the "plugin error" message and exports nothing. As I explained before you have to export the project into obj first, re-import the obj file into Artlantis and then export it again into skp for Twinmotion to be able to open it. And yes it is the case with all files from simple indoor projects to major urban/architectural projects!

Hope this helps,
T

Return to “Artlantis General”